ISSA Champs 2013 - Day Three

Champs Day Three

Jevaughn Matherson

By Dania Bogle

Defending champions Edwin Allen and former champions Kingston College were atop the points standings after three days of action of the 2013 ISSA Boys & Girls Athletic Championships at Kingston’s National Stadium.

The Frankfield based Edwin Allen continued their dominance from day two, more than doubling their overnight total and moving to 61 points, ahead of St Jago on 32, Holmwood 31 and Manchester 17.

Kingston College took over the lead from overnight leaders Jamaica College to move to 57 ahead of the Old Hope Road based JC on 49, defending champions Calabar on 42, Wolmer’s 26 and St. Jago rounding out the top five on 15.

            Meanwhile, Kingston College’s Jhevaughn Matherson starred the day three proceedings establishing a new record in the class three boys 200m.

                 Matherson, after getting a slow start powered round the curve and eased up in the final metres to clock 22.02 seconds winning heat two of the semi-finals and lowering Kevaughn Rattray’s old mark of 22.07 seconds. 

                  Calabar’s Michael O’hara was in fine form, strolling to victory in heat two of the class two 200m semi-finals advancing to the final in the fastest qualifying time 21.07 seconds.
                 Munro’s Delano Williams advanced to the final of the class one event winning semi-final one ahead of Bog Walk's Jevaughn Minzie.  Minzie gave chase but was no match for the reigning world junior champion Williams who won in 20.47. Green Island’s Odail Todd secured heat two in 20.55

            Meanwhile, Vere’s Shericka Jackson ran a personal best 23.02 to claim heat one of the girls class one semi-finals.
               "It was a pretty nice race for me. I came of my curve and tried to maintain my race as my coach said,” Jackson told reporters afterwards.

The usual suspects advanced to the respective semi-finals of the boys 100m with defending champion Williams being joined by Todd and Minzie.

            All three powered away from the rest of the field to win their respective heats.

            Williams won heat one in a time of 10.95 seconds ahead of Tacius Golding’s Shamar Brown in 10.98.  Todd claimed heat two in the fastest qualifying time of 10.64 seconds ahead of Ardenne’s Xandre Blake 10.91 while defending bronze medalist Minzie won heat four in a time of 10.68 seconds ahead of Jamaica College’s Edward Clarke in 10.99.

Calabar multi-tasker, O’Hara, who on Wednesday evening ran the second leg of his school’s  4x100m relay preliminaries looked easy as he sprinted to victory in heat one of the class one 100m in the fastest qualifying time of 10.83 seconds.

            Last year’s class three winner, Raheem Chambers of St. Jago, in his first year at class two clocked 11.14 seconds and secured heat two ahead of Kingston College’s Jerome Lodge in 11.36 while St. Elizabeth Technical’s Leroy Francis stopped the clock at 11.10 seconds winning heat three.

            Defending champion Javon Francis of Calabar clocked 48.53 seconds as he left Romario Campbell of Kingston College in his dust to capture heat one of the class one boys 400m.

            2012 runner up Manchester’s Lennox Williams captured heat two, stopping the clock at 48.55 ahead of Odane Bernard of Donald Quarrie.

Rayon Black of Excelsior was the fastest qualifier as he secured heat nine in a time of 48.32 seconds.

            Javauney James of St Elizabeth Technical clocked the fastest qualifying time to advance to the final of the class three boys 800m in a time of 2:03.69 ahead of Shane Henry of Wolmer’s 2:04.23 and Maleik Smith of Hydel 2:05.06.

On the girls’ side, Holmwood’s Chanice Bonner put herself in line for a double medal. After qualifying for the final of the class one 200m is into the semifinals of the 100m with a winning time of 11.91 seconds in heat one.

St. Mary’s Jodean Williams had the fastest qualifying time entering the semi-finals with 11.84 in winning heat four.

Kedisha Dallas of Holmwood secured the third heat in 12.00 followed some distance behind by St. Jago’s Oshin Brooks-Gillings in 12.09 seconds.

            Last year’s class three champion, Shauna Helps of Wolmer’s, won heat one of the class two girls 100m but her time of 12.41 seconds was among the slowest as she finished ahead of Excelsior’s Tasheka Gordon in 12.58.

            Last year’s silver medalist, Yanique Thompson of Holmwood won heat two in the fastest qualifying time 11.87 seconds ahead of Vere’s Rene Medley in 11.97 seconds.

Also through to the next round are Holmwood’s Dianna Johnson who won heat three in 11.99, last year’s bronze medalist Shimayra Williams of Clarendon College who secured heat four in 12.21 seconds and Wolmer’s Joneille Smith who stopped the clock in heat six in 12.02 seconds.

            Defending champion Yanique McNeil of Vere stayed on course to defend her title in the class two girls 400m after winning heat one in a time of 56.40 seconds ahead of Edwin Allen’s Davia Smith in 57.78.

            Also through to the semi-finals are Papine stand-out Tiffany James, who captured heat three in 55.85 seconds, Genekee Leith of St. Jago who captured heat five in 56.17 seconds ahead of Semoy Hemminsg of Hydel in 56.51.

            There was no stopping Edwin Allen’s Marleena Eubanks who blew away the competition to qualify for the class one 800m with the fastest qualifying time of 2:08.70 and will make it into Saturday’s finals alongside Holmwood’s Chris-Ann Gordon who won semi-final two with 2:09.97. Taska Johnson of Vere had the third fastest qualifying time finishing second in semi-final one in 2:08.73.

            STATH’s Cameka Witter clocked the fastest qualifying time to advance to the finals of the class two 800m (2:13.34) while Lisa Buchanan of Holmwood posted 2:14.79 in winning semi-final one.

Earlier Fedrick Dacres of Calabar the 2012 IAAF world junior champion, continued to stamp his class in the field as he threw a distance of 62.80m to retain the class one boys’ discus title.

Dacres’ throw was more than seven metres longer than second place finisher Jevaughan Shaw of Munro with 55.56m and his team mate Basil Bingham with 52.91m.

Oshane Shaw of Wolmer’s dethroned KC's  Xavier Boland to win the Pole Vault with a height of 3.80m to Boland's 3.60m.
             Ascot’s Vashaun McCarthy captured the boys class two shot put with a throw of 16.25m ahead of Jamaica’s College’s Karl-Leon 16.20m and KC’s Jamie-Hugh Brown 16.05m.

Gabrielle Foster of Alpha captured the class three girls high jump after clearing the bar at 1.68m followed by Toni-Ann Farquharson of Wolmer’s with 1.65m and Colestia Baker of Holmwood with 1.65m.

The class three boy’s equivalent was won by St Jago’s Lushane Wilson with a height of 1.93m while the Wolmer’s duo of Sadiki Morgan 1.91m and Jon-Michael Davis 1.84m were second and third.

            Kimone Shaw of St. Jago cleared 5.52m to win the long jump class four girls event. Sanique Walker of St. Jago secured the silver with a distance of 5.23m while Antoinette White of Holy Childhood was third with 5.14m.

            On Wednesday’s second day Kingston College stand-out Clive Pullen won the class one boys long jump after clearing 7.57m ahead of the Calabar duo of Jullane Walker (7.32m) and (Sadike Eddie (7.32m).

            Pullen could become a double winner after clearing 14.84m to top the qualifying for the Class One boy’s triple jump.

            Also on Wednesday, Ajani James of Jamaica College captured the class two long jump with a leap of 7.10m ahead of his teammate O’Brien Waysome with 7.09m and Calabar’s Javaughn Fowler with 7.07m.

            Edwin Allen’s Atara Segree and Holmwood’s Rodney Henry secured the Steeplechase titles.

            Segree won the girls event in a time of 7:10.22 while Henry won the Boys event in 6:07.46.